Rock Mill Park encompasses the historic Rock Mill, a stunning grist mill built in 1824 above the Hocking River Falls and the scenic Rock Mill Covered Bridge, constructed in 1901. Standing 90 feet above the gorge of the falls, Rock Mill stands as a testament to the rich agricultural heritage of Fairfield County, whose “fair fields” attracted so many brave pioneers in the late eighteenth and early nineteenth centuries. In the early 1800s Rock Mill was one of a dozen mills in the area whose power source was the Hocking River. The mill was in operation grinding flour and corn into wheat and meal as late at 1905.
For nearly 100 years, Rock Mill sat vacant. In 2003, Robert and Rita Stebelton donated the mill to the Fairfield County Historical Parks Commission. After an extensive archeological excavation, which included the discovery of Rock Mill’s original mill stones, the Historical Parks began extensive repair and restoration to the building. Through the combined resources of private donations, grants and government funding, the Historical Parks have been able to repair the mill’s exterior and rebuilt its four above-grade floors and two subfloors. In September 2012, the Historical Parks added a replica of the mill’s 26-foot-in-diameter all-wooden waterwheel, the largest of its kind in the state. In October 2016 the work began on installing the milling floor and connecting gearing in Rock Mill. The work on the milling floor and connecting gearing continues with the completion expected in Spring or Summer of 2017.
Directions and Map
Rock Mill Park is located at 1429 Rock Mill Place, NW, in Lancaster, Ohio.
From the corner of Main and Broad Streets in Lancaster, Ohio, head west on Main Street. Turn right onto Memorial Drive. Continue on Memorial Drive for about 3 miles. Turn left onto Collins Road, then take the first right onto Lithopolis Road. Continue on Lithopolis Road for about 3 miles. Turn left onto Rock Mill Road, then take the first left onto Rock Mill Place. Rock Mill Park will be on the left.
- Stunning early nineteenth century grist mill situated above the Hocking River falls offers wonderful views for photography.
- Historic Rock Mill Covered Bridge, built in 1901.
- Parking is available along Rock Mill Place.
This park opens at sunrise and closes at sunset. The mill is open to visitors Saturday and Sunday, 1:00pm-3:00pm from May-October.