Built in 1901, the Rock Mill Covered Bridge stands on its original abutments over a striking gorge just before the falls of the Hocking River. Spanning 37 feet and featuring a queenpost truss, the Rock Mill Bridge was one of the last bridge in Fairfield County to carry vehicular traffic and was built by Jacob “Bluejeans” Brandt. The bridge’s position next to the 1824-built Rock Mill grist mill makes it one of the more iconic locations in Fairfield County.
Directions and Map
The Rock Mill Covered Bridge is part of Rock Mill Park, which is located at 1429 Rock Mill Place, NW, in Lancaster, Ohio.
From the corner of Main and Broad Streets in Lancaster, Ohio, head west on Main Street. Turn right onto Memorial Drive. Continue on Memorial Drive for about 3 miles. Turn left onto Collins Road, then take the first right onto Lithopolis Road. Continue on Lithopolis Road for about 3 miles. Turn left onto Rock Mill Road, then take the first left onto Rock Mill Place. Rock Mill Park will be on the left.
- Early twentieth-century covered bridge on its original
- Part of Rock Mill Park, which also features a grist mill by the same name
- Limited parking available
- Listed on the National Register of Historic Places
Park opens at sunrise and closes at sunset.