The Mink Hollow Covered Bridge in Arney Run Park rests on its original sandstone abutments over Arney Run, a tributary of Clear Creek. This charming bridge was built approximately in 1887 at a span of 51 feet and features a multiple kingpost truss with a central X-brace and canopies on both sides. The Mink Hollow Covered Bridge actually lies in Oil Mill Hollow, a name that came from a nearby mill that pressed oil from flaxseed. This geographic landmark, as well as the name of Borcher’s Mill, a local grist mill, led to the bridge’s official name, which is the longest name of any covered bridge in the United States: The Mink Hollow Covered Bridge in Oil Mill Hollow Over Arney Run Near Borcher’s Mill. Although there is a Mink Hollow about five miles away from Oil Mill Hollow, the latter location has never figured prominently in the covered bridge’s name.
Directions and Map
The Mink Hollow Covered Bridge is located in Arney Run Park at 2340 Meister Road, SW in Lancaster, Ohio.
From the corner of Main and Broad Streets in Lancaster, Ohio, head south on Broad Street for approximately 1 mile, then make a slight right onto Hamburg Road. Stay on Hamburg Road for approximately 5 miles, then turn left onto Hopewell Church Road. Travel approximately 1 mile then turn left onto Meister Road. Arney Run Park will be on the left.
- Late nineteenth-century covered bridge on original abutments, whose floorboards are placed horizontally, rather than the more common vertical placement.
- Scenic location, perfect for wildlife observation, picnicking and photography.
- Parking is available.
This park opens at sunrise and closes at sunset.