UNDER DEVELOPMENT – NOT YET OPEN TO THE PUBLIC
The lodge was constructed in 1931 by Robert Mambourg. It was the family’s country retreat on 116 acres of fields, woods and deep ravines. The lodge is a wonderful example of post-and-beam (sometimes referred to as mortise-and-tenon) construction. A 90-ton, double-faced fireplace occupies the east end of the great room and was a favorite of elementary school children who came to the lodge for ice skating parties. The window glass was made to the strict specifications of Nestor Mambourg, Robert’s father, and is a testament to the rich history of glass making in Fairfield County. Nestor founded Pleasantville Glass Company in the early 1900s.
Fairfield County Parks is in the process of developing the land and restoring the lodge. Plans for Mambourg Park include areas for nature walks, birding, play areas, more.
Update, December 6, 2017: This morning, employees from Fairfield Soil and Water Conservation District met with us at Mambourg for surveying and to discuss pond restoration. If all goes as planned, Mambourg may be opened by the end of 2018. Stay tuned for updates!
- 1930s-era timber frame lodge surrounded by lush fields, woodlands and ravines